A Women’s World Cup England Beats Australia to Reach Final

Women’s World Cup England beats Australia to reach final… Spain’s ‘First Battle for the Championship’

England-Spain, last year’s Euro quarterfinal ‘return match’… Australia play Sweden for 3rd and 4th place

European Champions

‘European champions’ England defeated Australia to advance to the finals for the first time in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

England, 4th in the FIFA rankings, defeated Australia (10th in the FIFA rankings) 3-1 in the semifinals of the 2023 Australia-New Zealand Women’s World Cup held at Stadium Australia in Sydney, Australia on the 16th to advance to the final.

As a result, England succeeded in advancing to the final for the first time in the Women’s World Cup,

which has been held since 1991 and is being held this year for the ninth time.

England, which had been their best ever since third place in 2015, defeated Haiti (1-0 win),

Denmark (1-0 win), and China (6-1 win) in the group stage of this tournament,

rose to first place in Group D with three consecutive wins. . 카지노사이트

Round 16

In the round of 16, they defeated Nigeria after a penalty shoot-out, and in the quarterfinals,

they won a 2-1 come-from-behind victory over Colombia

followed by Australia, the host country, and ran unstoppably to the first ever final.

England beat Sweden 2-1 in the semi-final the day before and will compete for the championship trophy

at Stadium Australia on the 20th with Spain, who also reached the first final.

The two teams faced each other in the quarterfinals of the European Women’s Football Championship (Women’s Euro) last year, and England won 2-1 after extra time.

England later defeated Sweden and Germany to win the women’s Euro for the first time.


On the other hand, Australia, which has the highest FIFA ranking among Asian Football Confederation (AFC) countries,

failed to maintain the momentum of entering the semifinals for the first time in history

and was pushed back to the third and fourth place matches against Sweden on the 19th.

England opened the door in the 36th minute with Ella Toon’s goal.

From the left side of the goal area, Alessia Russo turned around to avoid the defense,

kicked the ball low, and Thun finished it with her right foot.

First Goal

It was the first goal of the tournament for Thun, who got an opportunity while striker Lauren James,

who scored 3 goals and 3 assists in this tournament,

was sent off after stepping on the butt of an opposing defender in the round of 16 against Nigeria and was suspended for two games.

After conceding a goal, Australia began to attack in waves, in the 18th minute of the second half, ‘Legend’ Sam Kerr’s wonder goal balanced the game.

During Australia’s counterattack, Kerr, who dribbled from behind the half-line, struck a lightning-like mid-range shot from far behind the penalty arc.

World Cup

The goal marked her 14th World Cup goal of her own, and Kerr also extended her record for most A-match goals for an Australian woman to 64.

But Australia’s joy was short-lived.

In the 26th minute of the second half, when the ball came from behind, Lauren Hemp broke through the penalty area, overcame the contest with the opponent, and shook the net with his left foot to give England the lead again.

In the 41st minute of the second half, when Australia’s repeated counterattack attempts led by Kerr failed, Rousseau scored a key goal and England completely seized the victory.

Hemp and Russo scored the opening goal and the winning goal, respectively, in the quarter-final against Colombia, and tasted goals in two consecutive games to lead England to the final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *