Schaeffler PGA Tour Player of the Year for the second consecutive time

 World Golf Ranking No. 1 Scotty Scheffler (USA) was selected as the PGA Tour Player of the Year for the second consecutive time.

On the PGA Tour, on the 4th (Korean time), Schaeffler won 38% of the votes in the member vote, beating Wyndham Clark (USA), Viktor Hovland (Norway), and Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland), and performed the best in the 2022-2023 season. It was announced that he had been selected as a player. 카지노사이트

Scheffler is the first player since Tiger Woods to become Player of the Year two times in a row. Woods received this award five times in a row from 1999 to 2003 and three times in a row from 2005 to 2007.

Before Woods, Fred Couples (1991-1992) and Nick Price (1993-1994) were selected as Player of the Year twice in a row.

Schaeffler participated in 23 competitions last season and finished in the top five 13 times, including winning twice.

His winnings alone amounted to $21 million (about 27.5 billion won), surpassing the previous record of $14 million he set the previous season.

He also won the Byron Nelson Award, given to the player with the lowest stroke average for the season, 68.63.

“It’s very special to receive an award voted on by your peers. It’s an honor to take home the trophy for the second time in a row,” Scheffler said.

The Rookie of the Year Award went to 35-year-old Eric Cole (USA).

Cole defeated competitors including Nico Echavarria (Colombia), Vincent Norman (Sweden), and Ludwig Overy (Sweden) with 51% of the vote.

After turning professional, Cole waited 10 years to receive the Rookie of the Year Award. Cole’s mother, Laura Boe, also won the Rookie of the Year award on the LPGA Tour in 1973.

The age of 35 is the second-oldest among PGA Tour Rookie Award winners. The oldest recipient in history is Todd Hamilton (USA), who received the Rookie of the Year Award in 2004 at the age of 38.

Cole said, “The Rookie of the Year award is a special award that can only be received once in a person’s life. It is an honor to receive it as voted on by his peers.”

Although Cole did not win last season, he finished in the top 10 seven times in 37 competitions, including two runner-up finishes, and was the only rookie player to advance to the BMW Championship, a playoff competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *